President Trump Declares Major Disaster in All States for the First Time


All 50 U.S. States under Disaster Declaration, First Time to Happen in History

President Donald Trump declared all the states under a major disaster for the first time in history after the U.S. recorded the highest coronavirus death toll in the world Saturday.

This came 22 days after the first disaster declaration in New York, the epicenter of the virus.

All the 50 states and the Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, Washington D.C., Guam and Puerto Rico received a federal disaster declaration. The only U.S. territory that was not under a major declaration was American Samoa.

The declaration offered the states a chance to access the federal funds to help fight against the spread of coronavirus.

The pandemic became a threat to the U.S., the country surpassing Italy Saturday with most virus-related deaths globally.

As of Friday, at least 20,071 deaths from coronavirus had been recorded in the U.S. and over 500,000 people had contracted the virus.