Michelle Wie $100,000 Mistake

3
182

Michelle Wie $100,000 Mistake – Michelle Wie continues to make headlines in the world of golf, but a recent mistake of hers could end up costing the young star over $100,000. When she first entered the league she was often compared to other female celebrities who many feel made it to the level that they did based on their looks, and not on their ability within their sport. She has been able to prove herself in recent years, and has been able to place better on a tournament by tournament basis. However, in the final round of the LPGA Kia Classic, Wie’s ball landed just barely in the water at the edge of the hazard on the 11th hole of the course. When she tried to knock the ball out of this hazardous area, the ball only went around four feet before sitting itself back on the ground just short of the hazard line. This would have been alright, except for the fact that Wie laid the club of her head on the ground after the shot, which is in direct violation of the rules outlined by the LPGA.

Wie went on to say that she was upset with herself, because she knew the rule and had broken it unknowingly, however, many feel that the official that called the foul on her should come under fire, and not Wie. The rule states that the player may not meddle with the ground surrounding the ball prior to shooting, or place her club head in such a way that the shot might be altered, even the smallest amount. Wie laid the head of her club on the ground long after she had completed the shot, and was not attempting to alter her shot in any way with the actions that she took on the course.

3 COMMENTS

  1. why would the rules official come under fire? the video clearly shows the violation and wie’s attempt to argue it for 10 minutes with her sassy disrespectful crybaby attitude is embarrassing. she kept telling the officials “you dont know how i felt” she’s too absorbed in her own emotions 24 hours a day. just a BIG CRYBABY!

  2. First of all, it’s a dumb rule, it had NOTHING to do with giving her an advantage, the 3rd shot had already been hit, she was not addressing the 4th shot and/or testing the lie. Compare this to the Tiger Woods “loose impediment” boulder removal a few years back that most definitely gave him an advantage. If anybody else, golfer or not, was told they had just lost $90,000 on a meaningless technicality they would squeal like a stuck pig. Wie was expressing her view, nothing more, nothing less. The officials had already made up they mind anyway after huddling together and watching the tape numerous times. By selectively persecuting this girl the “rules police” are cutting their own throats. The solution is to let players call penalties on themselves and settle it with their playing partners as to if they gained an advantage. Wie and only Wie knew her intent. Despite this episode and the Wie hater’s cartel, she will dominate for years. Get over it. By the way, if I were her, I would file a defamation lawsuit against the golf channel’s Tim Rosaforte for his “airhead: comment, unprofessional and very mean spirited (5th grade level)

  3. I believe, the personnel at the golf channel over exceed their authority, and should keep their persoal opinion to them selves. It is up to the players to call themselves on stroke penalty, not an announser or even the TV audience.

LEAVE A REPLY